New leaders elected for NC Wildlife Resources Commission

RALEIGH – The N.C. Wildlife Resources Commission began a new two-year leadership cycle with the election of a new Chairman and Vice Chairman.  The Commission, made up of 19 appointed members from across North Carolina, elected John Litton Clark, of Clinton, to serve as Chairman and John T. Coley, IV, of Holly Springs, to serve as Vice Chairman.  Both elections were unanimous.

John Clark (left) and John Coley (right)

John Clark (left) and John Coley (right)

Clark succeeds Jim Cogdell, of Norwood, NC, who served two years as Chairman.  Clark was previously Vice Chairman under Cogdell.  Chairman Clark represents Wildlife District 4 (Bladen, Brunswick, Columbus, Cumberland, Harnett, Hoke, Robeson, Sampson, Scotland) and was appointed by Governor Pat McCrory to a six-year term.  Coley was first appointed in the 1990’s by Speaker Brubaker and served one term.  More recently, he was appointed in 2011 by then-Speaker Thom Tillis and in 2013 became an at-large appointee of Governor McCrory with a four-year term.

“I am honored to have been elected Vice Chairman of the NC Wildlife Commission and look forward to serving the State of NC in that capacity,” said Coley.

The 19-member Wildlife Resources Commission is the state’s primary rule-making body for boating, hunting, trapping and inland fishing. Appointments to the Commission are made by the Governor, the Speaker of the State House and the President Pro Tempore of the N.C. Senate.