The Senate consists of 50 members who serve a term of two years. The Lieutenant Governor is President of the Senate and presides over the daily session. The Lieutenant Governor is elected by the citizens of North Carolina for a four-year term. He/she has no vote in the Senate except to break a tie. The Senate elects officers from their membership including the President Pro Tempore.

bergerPhil Berger (R-Rockingham) is the President Pro Tempore of the North Carolina Senate.  Berger is an attorney from Eden, North Carolina.  Berger earned a bachelor's degree in sociology from Averett College and a J.D. from Wake Forest University.  He was elected President Pro Tempore in January 2011.  

brownHarry Brown (R-Onslow) is the Majority Leader of the North Carolina Senate.

blueDan Blue (D-Wake) is the Minority Leader of the North Carolina Senate.